Skip to Content
Hurst Remodelers Logo

What is a CLC

gallery image
gallery image
gallery image
gallery image

Here are the requirements Dan Hurst, Kevin McDonald, Mike Voluschuk and Brian Hurst had to meet in order to become NARI Certified Lead Carpenters:

NARI Certified Lead Carpenters (CLCs) are the hands-on field personnel who oversee every aspect of the project: customer satisfaction, personnel management, administration, etc. while working on the project.

To qualify for the CLC designation, applicants must meet all of the following:

  • Have a minimum of five years continuous practice in the remodeling industry, with at least two of those years as a lead carpenter – defined as a remodeling professional who is involved in tasks and has responsibilities beyond the technical production aspects of a project; he or she is responsible for customer contact and communication, supervision of subcontractors and employees, managing the job site, scheduling, and safety issues
  • Adhere to NARI’s Standards of Practice and Code of Ethics
  • Successfully completed a comprehensive application that details their background and experience
  • Successfully complete a half-day written examination on pre-construction issues, technical knowledge, and special skills (people and job management)

NARI certified remodeling professionals have pledged to abide by a strict Standards of Practice and NARI’s Code of Ethics, which is as follows:

  • By promoting in good faith only those products and services which are known to be functionally and economically sound, and which are known to be consistent with objective standards of health and safety.
  • By making all advertising and sales promotion factually accurate, avoiding those practices which tend to mislead or deceive the customer.
  • By writing all contracts and warranties such that they comply with federal, state, and local laws.
  • By promptly acknowledging and taking appropriate action on all customer complaints.
  • By refraining from any act intended to restrain trade or suppress competition.
  • By attaining and retaining insurance as required by federal, state, and local authorities.
  • By attaining and retaining licensing and/or registration as required by federal, state, and local authorities.